Skip to content

NIH Rheumatology Training Program

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Department of Health and Human Services


Return to: Home » Alumni »Featured Alumni

Featured Alumni

Leslie Crofford, M.D.

photo of Dr. Leslie Crofwford

Dr. Crofford was a NIAMS Rheumatology Fellow from 1989 to 1993, where she worked in the laboratory of Dr. Ronald Wilder. Dr. Crofford is currently a Professor of Medicine, and a Professor of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in Nashville, Tenn. She is an active member of the American College of Rheumatology where she sat on the Board of Directors, and she is a past President for the Rheumatology Research and Education Foundation.

"I learned what it meant to be a translational scientist by keeping the focus on our patients while engaged in basic and clinical discovery."

Robert Kimberly, M.D.

photo of Dr. Robert Kimberly

Dr. Kimberly was a Fellow in the Arthritis and Rheumatism Branch in the National Institute of Arthritis, Diabetes, and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIADDK) prior to the establishment of the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS). Following Fellowship, he became a Professor of Medicine at the Hospital for Special Surgery in New York, and in 1996 became the Division of Rheumatology Director at the University of Alabama, Birmingham (UAB). Dr. Kimberly is the current Howard Holley Chair of Medicine, Director of the UAB Comprehensive Arthritis, Musculoskeletal, and Autoimmunity Center and the Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Research in the UAB School of Medicine.

Grant Louie, M.D.

photo of Dr. Grant Louie

Dr. Louie was a NIAMS Rheumatology Fellow from 2005 to 2010 where he investigated rheumatology outcomes in the Clinical Trials and Outcomes Branch with Dr. Michael Ward. Dr. Louie is currently an Assistant Professor of Medicine in the Division of Rheumatology at the Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD.

In This Section:

This page last reviewed on March 12, 2015