Skip to content

NIH Rheumatology Training Program

National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Department of Health and Human Services

Faculty and Staff

Return to: Home » Faculty and Staff »Program Clinical Staff

Program Clinical Staff

In addition to our faculty members, a dedicated staff of clinicians and clinical assistants support the activities of the program. The NIH does not have internal medicine residents. Consequently, we employ Nurse Practitioners to work closely with the fellows in clinical care activities. Research Nurse Specialists coordinate informed consent, visits, specialty care, advanced testing and research sample procurement for patients on active research protocols. Other staff assist with the preparation and revision of clinical research protocols. Monitoring and regulatory compliance for interventional clinical trials is handled by the sponsor or by contract staff. We also use a state-of-the-art clinical database developed at the NIH, termed the Clinical Trials Database (CTDB).

April Brundidge, BSN, RN
Research Nurse Specialists
brundidgea@mail.nih.gov


Dawn Chapelle, CRNP
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
chapelled@mail.nih.gov


Shaila Farooque
Protocol Support Assistant
farooqus@mail.nih.gov


Wendy Goodspeed, RN
Research Nurse Specialist
goodspew@mail.nih.gov


Eileen Lange, BSN, RN
Research Nurse Specialist
langeeil@mail.nih.gov


Elaine Novakovich, BSN, RN
Research Nurse Specialist
enovakovich@mail.nih.gov


Isabel Ochoa-Navas, CNA
Medical Assistant, Community Health Clinic
ochoai@mail.nih.gov


Patricia O'Brien, BSN, RN
Research Nurse Specialist
obrienm@mail.nih.gov


Yani Ruiz Perdomo, C.R.N.P.
Nurse Practioner
ruizperdomoyd@mail.nih.gov


Yinghui Shi
Clinical Sample Coordinator
shiy2@mail.nih.gov

Cheryl Talar-Williams, MPH, PA-C
Clinical Operations Manager
ctwilliams@mail.nih.gov


Yenealen Temesgen-Oyelakin, BSN, RN
Research Nurse Specialist
Yenealem.temesgen-oyelakin@nih.gov

Maureen Wilburn
Patient Care Coordinator
wilburnm@mail.nih.gov


In This Section:

This page last reviewed on December 6, 2016